The Journey Begins

Today I am launching ‘The Journey of Nicola’ and I am really quite nervous.  Computers and I do not always see eye to eye, so I feel this will have to change quickly!

My mother, Angela,  passed away 14 years ago to the day, at the tender age of 64, after a cruel illness, through which I nursed her.  A devoted mother who always put the needs of her children before her own.  I recall the quality times we all spent together – laughing and just generally feeling happy.  I never heard my parents argue and we definitely were not involved in grown-up concerns.  We were allowed to be children.

All through childhood she encouraged my brothers and I to reach our goals and follow our ambitions.  I forget the number of times she was up at four in the morning to help me get ready for horse shows – rain or shine.  She shared in our triumphs and wiped away our tears when things did not go to plan.

She was there when I gave birth to my son James, although I did get slightly concerned when, during labour, she was asking for a second opinion – at that point I didn’t care if a janitor delivered my cherub!  A very well spoken lady, who, since she gave up her career in the film industry for her family, obviously understood why I gave up my career for James.

I remember, when I landed my job with the  ‘Sunday Sport’, my mother thought it was the  ‘Sporting Times’  and subsequently told all her friends with great pride.  It was only at one of her gatherings I realized the mix up and nearly choked on my gin and tonic!  Yes, I did come clean and for some reason, I became like some kind of heroine.  Her friends were always asking after me and hoping I would be at her events with some interesting news.

Although, to others, she did not always come across as a strong character – she was a pillar of strength and was the backbone of our family.  She was the glue that held us together.  She inherited that trait from my grandmother and I am proud and happy to have inherited it too.

Feel free, to peruse my pages, which will get more interesting and expand as time goes on.  The biggest news at the moment is NaNo!    ‘What’s that?’  I hear some of you say.  Pop over to my NaNo 2012 & Beyond page to find out more.  There will be regular movements there, particularly in November.

Hopefully, you will visit me often and share my journey.  It will be a journey full of challenges, hope, fun, laughter, tears, frustration, satisfaction, determination and SUCCESS.

So now I raise my glass to my mum, Angela, my real inspiration.

Posted on October 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Excellent start Nicola. I’ll be back xx

  2. brilliant first blog and great to see you with us all now in the blogging world 🙂 xx

  3. Well done and keep going it gets addictive!!

  4. Well done Nicola, I will be following your blogging and nano journey.

  5. Great blog Nickie. Good luck with your NaNo adventure.

  6. Great blog Nicola. I’ll be following your journey. Look forward to the next instalment

Leave a Reply

